A sixth-year senior who has spent his entire college career at the same school, Mitch Lightfoot has embraced a team-leadership role at Kansas during the 2021-22 season.

He and fifth-year senior guard Chris Teahan are the only two players on the KU roster who have Final Four experience.

In fact, the Kansas Jayhawks men's basketball team is currently ranked number one in the Big 12 Conference.

They were members of the 2017-18 Jayhawks team that defeated Duke in the Elite Eight in Omaha, Nebraska, in the national.

“We’re excited about the (Elite Eight) matchup and chance to go to the Final Four,” Said Mitch Lightfoot

After defeating the Miami Hurricanes 76-50 on Sunday, March 27, 2022, the Kansas Jayhawks earned their spot in the Final Four at March Madness.

The Kansas men's basketball team Jawhawks will take on the Villanova Wildcats (2nd in big east) on Saturday, April 2.

The Jayhawks of 2019-20 went 28-3 overall (17-1 in the Big 12) but were unable to play in the NCAAs because of the tournament cancellation.

Current team members Lightfoot, Teahan, Christian Braun, Dajuan Harris, Jalen Wilson, David McCormack, Ochai Agbaji and Michael Jankovich.