Villanova men's basketball coach Jay Wright announced his retirement Wednesday 20th April 2022 night after 21 seasons leading the Wildcats.

Jay Wright retiring and Fordham's Kyle Neptune taking over, a shocking move that comes just weeks after he led the Wildcats to the Final Four.

Wright, 60, had been the Wildcats' coach since 2001. He won two national championships, in 2016 and 2018, and made four Final Four appearances.

He was named Naismith Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2016 and was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2021.

He slowly built the Wildcats into one of the best programs in college basketball. Villanova reached four Final Fours under Wright and won the national championship in 2016 and 2018.

Wright offered no real explanation in his announcement on Twitter -- but he did say he's "excited to hand over the reins to Villanova's next coach."

"Over the past 21 seasons, I have had the opportunity to live out a professional dream as the head coach at Villanova," Wright said.

"(Wife) Patty and I have been blessed to work with incredible young men who allowed us to coach them, Jay Wright added.

Jay said: It has been an honor and a privilege to work at Villanova, especially under Father Peter and Mark Jackson.

After 35 years in basketball coaching, I am proud and excited to hand over the reins to Villanova's next coach, I am excited.

Basketball coach Wright, 60, took over at Villanova in 2001 after spending seven seasons as the head coach at Hofstra.

He had been solicited for several NBA jobs through the years, and enjoyed his experience coaching Team USA under Gregg Popovich in recent years.

During his 28 total seasons as a head coach, Wright compiled a 642-282 record with 10 regular-season conference titles.

Seven conference tournament championships and two national titles. Villanova reached the Final Four this past season, falling to eventual champion Kansas.

"Jay's legacy extends well beyond the numerous awards, accolades and championships. He will be forever known as Villanova's winningest coach.